Expert Guests, Expansive Topics, Extolling Christ

Open in new window.


Candidates for LCMS President
and Vice Presidents

The deadline for President and Vice President
is Wednesday, February 20, 2019.

Click HERE for nomination information.


The Rev. Dr. Matthew C. Harrison – 13th President of the LC-MS (2010-present).

Recent Accomplishments: With Dr. Harrison’s guidance and support, the LC-MS has doubled the number of missionaries in the field to about 130 full-time career missionaries, with a record 1,700+ congregations in support; it has launched the Global Seminary Initiative with $3.8 million to send our seminary professors overseas and bring overseas students here to our seminaries; it has renewed a focus on outreach with Everyone His Witness (evangelism), re:Vitality (congregational renewal), and church-planting resources; and is expanding its international relations with more churches like ours.  A longer bio, including a list of his writings, and information about what has been accomplished during the Harrison presidency, can be found here.



The Rev. Dr. Lawrence R. Rast – 16th President of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN (2011-present).

Recent AccomplishmentsChairman of the LC-MS Commission on Theology and Church Relations (2006-present). As President of CTS, Fort Wayne, Dr. Rast has launched a significant strategic planning process resulting in funding and completion of the new library, doubling of the Seminary’s endowment, successful audits of all business practices, 100% tuition guarantee for all residential students, and steady enrollment in the face of demographic challenges. Member of Concordia Historical Institute Board of Governors (1995-2009, 2015-present), and its President(2001-07).



The Rev. Dr. John C. Wille – President of the South Wisconsin District of the LC-MS (2006-present).

Recent Accomplishments: Council of Presidents’ representative to the Board of Regents for Concordia Seminary, Saint Louis (2015-present).Editor of Circuit Visitors’ Manual (2009-15). Concordia University-Wisconsin Board of Regents (2006-present). Trained LC-MS Reconciler, Hearing Panel member, and Appeal’s Panel member. Clergy Call and Roster Committee of the Council of Presidents, Chairman (2015-present). LC-MS National ConventionFloor Committees: Program and Finance, member (2010) and chairman (2013); Ecclesiastical Supervision, chairman (2016).



The Rev. Peter K. Lange – President of the Kansas District of the LC-MS (2015-present).

Recent Accomplishments: Secretary to the Council of Presidents (April 2018-present). 1st Vice-President of the Kansas District (2012-15). Synod think-tank for Koinonia Project expansion (2015). Kansas District Board of Caring Ministry (2012-15). Presenter at Kansas District’s Timothy Gathering (for new pastors; 2007). Vicarage Supervisor (2002-07). Synod Task Force for National Youth Gatherings (2005). Author of CPH Sunday School Materials (2004). Teacher for Lutheran Musician Enrichment with the LC-MS Commission on Worship (2000-02). Lutheran Layman’s League Zone Advisor, Missouri District (4 years in the 1990s).


+ + + + + + + + + + +



The Rev. Christopher S. Esget -Pastor of Immanuel Lutheran Church, Alexandria, VA and East/Southeast Regional Vice-President (2015-present).

Recent Accomplishments: Led to completion $5.5 million parochial school and church improvement construction project. As superintendent of Immanuel Lutheran School, achieved CCLE and NLSA accreditation in 2018. Member, Concordia College—New York Board of Regents. Led LCMS Life Ministries/Lutherans for Life “March for Life” activities (2002-present). Chaplain, 2017 LCMS Life Conference (Washington, D.C.); also Presenter. Theologian-in-Residence, International Lutheran Center , Old Latin School, Wittenberg, Germany, August 2017.



The Rev. Benjamin T. Ball – Pastor of Saint Paul Lutheran Church, Hamel, IL and Second Vice-President of Southern Illinois District (2018-present).

Recent Accomplishments:Member, LC-MS Convention Floor Committee on Seminary Education (2016). Circuit Counselor, LaGrange Circuit, Northern Illinois District (2006-2009). Circuit Visitor, Edwardsville Circuit, Southern Illinois District (2015-2018). Board of Directors, Metro-East Lutheran High School, Edwardsville, Illinois (2017-Present). Supervisor of Deaconess Field Workers, Concordia University, River Forest, IL (2005-2012). Supervisor of Field Workers, Concordia Seminary, St. Louis, MO (2015-Present).



The Rev. Dr. John C. Wohlrabe – Assistant Pastor of Our Savior Ev. Lutheran Church, Whitefish Bay, WI, Retired U.S. Navy Chaplain (1987-2009), and [Great Lakes Regional since 2013] and Vice-President (2007-present).

Recent Accomplishments: Bronze St. Martin of Tours Medal, LCMS Ministry to the Armed Forces (2002). John H. Craven Servant Leadership Award from Navy Chief of Chaplains (2007). 30 other military awards. Editor-in-Chief, Concordia Historical Institute Quarterly (2012-present). Adjunct Instructor, Concordia University Wisconsin (2013-present). President, Concordia Historical Institute Board of Governors (2015-present). Adjunct Professor, Concordia University Wisconsin (2013-present).



The Rev. Nabil S. Nour – Pastor of Trinity Lutheran Church, Hartford, SD and Great Plains Regional Vice-President (2013-present).

Recent Accomplishments: LC-MS Conflict Resolution Officer (2008–present). Circuit Visitor in South Dakota (1998–2006). South Dakota District Second Vice-President (2006–2012). South Dakota District First Vice-President (2012–2013). Frequent preacher at many events (1994–present). Guest teacher/lecturer at districts/congregations (1994–present). Leading tours to the Holy Land (1994-present) —he is a native of Nazareth, Israel. Pastor of Redeemer Lutheran Church, Armour, SD (1994-2015); at Trinity, Hartford, SD since 2015.



The Rev. Dr. Scott Murray – Pastor of Memorial Lutheran Church, Houston, TX and [West/Southwest Regional since 2013] and Vice-President (2010-present).

Recent Accomplishments: LCMS Commission on Theology and Church Relations (1995-2001), Vice-Chair (1998-2001). Member of the board of the Lutheran Education Association of Houston (2001-2007). Editorial Associate and Contributing Editor for LOGIA, a journal of Lutheran theology (1992-present). Chairman, Board of Directors of the Luther Academy (2012-2015). He is the author of Law, Life, and the Living God (CPH, 2001), A Year with the Church Fathers (CPH, 2011), and has edited a number of books including The Gates of Hell (CPH, 2018).